Mommy’s Escape 6.0











{July 30, 2009}   Spin Cycle Friday: Friendship Edition

I know I am early on this but I wanted to get this in while my creative juices were still flowing. By tonight they might be frozen since my hot water heater busted – good times I swear!! LOL

Well this week Jen at Sprite’s Keeper brought up a topic that just makes me all mushy and gushy!!! Don’t worry, it won’t get on you – well if you squeeze too hard it just might so be careful okay?

What is it you may ask? Well, if you read the header of this post you would know that it is about friendship. Good one Jen!!!

You see, there are different forms of friendships and different types of friends.

Back before I was married, I had so many “friends” that I didn’t know what to do with myself. I wasn’t the popular girl but my school was so small that the grades all mingled together – there was no seperation fo Freshmen, Juniors, etc. We were all one big group. This was AWESOME!!!

But when life came calling – they were not there anymore – real friends huh?

But I found this awesome thing called the internet for support when my kids were diagnosed and found my best friend in the world. She is a mom just like me with kids with special needs. We have never met as she lives in Michigan and I live way down South in Florida. But we talk every week via text, email or phone. Whenever there is something wrong, we run to eachother. This has been going on for over 5 years and I can honestly say that she is more than a friend, she is like a sister.

There are also alot of other great people that I have met on-line. That includes YOU!!! Yes you, you know who you are. (If you don’t, just look at my blog roll – if you’re on there I consider you a dear friend) I know you can wipe the tears up off the floor now, you are soaking the carpet.

Since you all practically knwo eacother, I am going to introduce you all to two of my dearest friends that I met on-line that you guys do not know.

One of them is Stu – if you are on Facebook – you have prolly seen me and him comment back and forth. He is probably the sweetest and awesome guy that you can ever meet. Even though his appearance would make most people run the other way……
Image and video hosting by TinyPic

he really is a big teddy bear with a giant heart to share. (Isn’t he cute too?!?! Sorry – he’s taken)

We didn’t meet under the most common of circumstances. It was actually on MySpace and I found him through a mutual friend when I discovered that his grandson had suffered a horrible experience.
Image and video hosting by TinyPic
He was shaken and abused by his mothers boyfriend as a baby. I am not going to go into the details of what and how. You can check out his MySpace page here and his FaceBook page here and see the information yourself. All I know is that this man is always the front runner for his grandson, his wife, and his family as a whole. He has even taken Alex’s father in as his own and loves him dearly. Aside from the hard stuff – he is really funny, crazy and knows just what to say whenever I am down. He is just the best person in the world to be around.

The other person I met through Stu – her name is Lori. You all have heard about her when after TD was born, I found out that her nephew who was born just a few days later was diagnosed with neuroblastoma. Luckily now he is doing very well and out of the woods. Image and video hosting by TinyPic

She is a crazy woman with an awesome little guy Trev
Image and video hosting by TinyPic
who she fights tooth and nail for as well as children in unfortunate circumstances. She is always by my side and along with Stu – finds crazy ways to make me smile and laugh.

If it weren’t for these awesome people – I would not have been able to see that through such tragedy, there is light, love, and hope. Everyone should have a Stu and a Lori in their lives. If not for friendship and kindness – they would probably make the best drinking buddies ever!!!

I love you Stu & Lori!!!! MUAH!!!!

This is for Braveheart – Stu’s grandson – please remember to love your kids and know that they are as precious as gold!!!
Image and video hosting by TinyPic

That is so sweet! I only hope my friends think of me in that respect. But then again, I know you do, and that warms my heart. You’re linked!



lori says:

YOU ROCK!!!! i will be forever grateful for our friendship……you were there for me when shit went down! i will never forget that….there are always people who claim to be your friend….whether online or in real life……..YOU HAVE PROVEN TO ME THAT ONLINE FRIENDS ARE THE BEST!!

i can never say thank you enough but here goes

thank you thank you thank you thank you thank you thank you thank you thank you thank you thank you thank you….ok you get the drift

love you lots



What a great post. They sound like wonderful people. Stu looks cool.

Makes you realize that your little troubles throughout the day are just that, little.



Casey says:

You sound like you surround yourself with wonderful friends. It’s not surprising to me, you’re pretty kewl yourself. 😉



The internet really is an amazing place for finding friendship and support, isn’t it? Sounds like you have some great friends!



They sound awesome. People who have your back that way just have to be appreciated. Oh, and Stu? Does not look old enough to have kids, never mind grand kids. Wowzers. His grandson is adorable (pass that one on, huh?)



Brilliant post. People wonder why I blog and tweet. This is exactly why. Relationships man. Simple.



Leave a Reply

et cetera
