Mommy’s Escape 6.0











{May 19, 2009}   As the tassle turns

I cannot believe it. The day is almost here – the day that I have worked so hard for.

That day is June 13th – the day that I will officially walk across the stage at the local arena as a college graduate. A certified member of the educated elite with degrees and a piece of paper to hang up on their wall to display proudly.

What I am going to do with it – that is a whole other story that will commence shortly thereafter.

The thing that has shocked me about this day is the fact of how long it took me to get there. The enrollment counselor cheerfully told me it should take 3 years to complete my degree. HAH!!!

Try 5 years (this is of course between my time offs and breaks at the school). It took me 5 years to complete a 4 year degree! Shocking huh?

But then I sit back and I take a look at all that I have accomplished without the degree and I am even prouder of that than the piece of paper I will be getting. Is that weird or odd?

I am proudest of the things that I do every day and now, at this moment is the time that I realize it.

I know that many of us forget to stop and smellt he roses so to speak, or really watch the clouds blow by. We forget what is really important in life until it is coupled next to something that is “supposed” to be extravagant and we realize, nope, it’s not – life is extravagant.

I say this because I looked at my children today when we picked them up from school. They have so much life and so much beauty in their lives to share with the world. There is untapped potential and strength that they have to offer those who are strong and hard-headed like I was.

I don’t know if I will ever get to see some of my little ones walk across the grand stage and tun their tassle in unison with their college graduating class. I do know that we will work hard to get there or com as close as possible.

Heck, if they do not make it across that stage – that is okay too. At least they have worked hard in their lives and put every effort to improve and get better. I see it every day and I am proud – I am amazed.

These accomplishments are worth more than any piece of paper or degree in the world. There can be countless degrees and certifications and more that can cover the walls of my home – the ones I care about are the ones that I kiss goodnight and hold tight every morning and breathe them in as they walk away into the world.

pixiemama says:

i can think of several gorgeous little reasons for it to take an extra year to get a degree. 🙂

Congratulations.

xo



Heather says:

Congrats!!!
We’ll be lucky if our 17 year old graduates from High School!!!
YOU ROCK!!!



Well said and congrats.



Amen to that! But still your day was hard earned, enjoy it and congrats!



Danette says:

Congratulations on your degree!

What a beautiful post, that is so true. Thanks for the reminder :).



Casey says:

Wow, congratulations! That’s some achievement with everything that you’ve got on your plate. 🙂



Keely says:

Congratulations! That’s an amazing accomplishment with your busy life!



Leave a Reply

et cetera
