Mommy’s Escape 6.0











{April 15, 2009}   what is it about my bed & bathroom huh?

I know I am not the only one who goes through this – that their bed seems to be the magnetic spot of choice for little people to roam to in the middle of the night.

I swear, the other night I was finally in bed at a decent time and enjoying the fact that I could sleep. Not more than 2 hours later I feel cold little feet creeping in – I look over and there was my daughter saying she couldn’t sleep. I let her in, because I was too knocked out to argue. Within fifteen minutes I hear a grumble and moan which meant my husband was getting out of bed and going to the couch. He cannot stand to sleep with anyone in the bed that is not me or more than just me so he moaned on and left. Not 2 more hours pass by that I hear the hacking cough of Little Man as he climbed into bed by my feet. Geeees!!! what is this? the national convention center? Just as you can imagine I was not able to sleep a wink that night.

Then the next day as I was cleaning my room and picking up, you know, making things tidy. In comes Princess with her dog inher arms and asks if she can play on my bed with her dog. WTF? Doesn’t she have a bed of her own? Her response to that obvious question is that he will fall off the bed between the bed and the wall. I reluctantly roll my eyes and allow her to play on my bed.

Two nights later, all is peaceful and quiet until 2am when my husband wakes me up to tell me that Baby Boy is crying. Okay? Why don’t you go and fudging attend him and let me sleep?!?!? Of course, I get  up and tuck him back to bed and slowly creep out of the room. Unfortunately my laminate flooring wanted to play games so CREAK! and he starts crying again. This time he holds my hand to make sure I don’t leave. Do you know how uncomfortable it is to stand crouched over  a bed rail on the bottom bed of a bunk bed set? Not very comfortable – I do not recommend trying it. I knew there was no way that I would get out of there alive and the child would stay sleeping so I carried him to my room. Within seconds he was asleep!!! Ugh!!!You couldn’t tell though because he was turing around in the bed like some synchronized swimmer competing for the gold medal. Fun times!!!

The worst thing is the bathroom – how is it that people know when you are in the bathroom? Is there a light or sensor that beams and sirens to alert the world? It seems like the moment I sit down on the throne, 2 to 3  little people walk in asking for a drink or cookies or chips. HELLO!!!! Don’t you see that I am busy? Can’t you go ask your father who is in the living room?Nope – they think mommy can do everything even from the toilet! Oh and this does not only apply to the toilet – NOOO!!! that would be too simple.

The shower is the best time that I am annoyed  visited. I get the shower door opened for questions like “Can I color?”, “Where is my train?”, or my favorite is Angel Eyes just opening and closing the door because he loves to h ear it slam against the magnetic strip. Oh, but don’t rule out my husband. It seems that he likes to hold his most intelligent and urgent conversations whilst I am showering and washing my hair. And the worst part about it is that HE IS ON THE CRAPPER!!!! that is not my idea of aroma therapy.

If I lived any closer, I would SO babysit for you so you can get at leasst one night of rest!



Kat says:

I thought I was the only one who could only have a conversation with my husband while I am in the shower. You would think he would find a better time to talk.



This is so funny! Every time I settle in for a “relaxing” bath, in barges Logan with all his toys and climbs on in with me. If I lock the door he does his awesome battering ram impersonation. What is up???



My son has figured out how to pick the lock on my bathroom door. I now have to take a chair in there with me and stick it under the door knob. But he knows if pushes hard enough he can wedge the door open just enough. He gets a crazed look in his eye like he’s Jack from The Shining. It’s scarey to see that four year old peeking at me from the door demanding to let me in the tub.



Allinole says:

This post is so true. The part about your husband made me laugh.

My husband likes to talk to me the most when I am on the phone!



We’re trying to totally potty-train Rye and by totally I mean even through the night so he’s been going to bed without a diaper. Did I mention he likes to crawl in bed with us? So far, so good. Keep your fingers crossed.;)



Danette says:

Ahhh! I can totally relate! Bitty sleeps with us every night, and Bearhug finds his way into our bed pretty frequently too. Cuddlebug, not so much anymore. It wasn’t that long ago we woke up almost every morning to find 3 boys – and the cat – piled into our bed :).

And the bathroom! Ugh. and LOL about your dh 🙂

Bitty hates when I take a shower so if he catches me in there, he opens the door and keeps saying, “tur- opf… opf… wa-er opf… aw done…” and crying. I try to make sure he’s busy before heading to the shower but that doesn’t always work.

I hope you’re able to get some rest!



Liam came into bed this morning and instead of demanding breakfast he fell asleep. I was afraid to get back into bed and wake him up. Sigh.



Leave a Reply

et cetera
