Mommy’s Escape 6.0











{February 16, 2009}   Are you sure about this?

Okay, today I have been bestowed an award that is one of the best awards any mom can receive – honestly – but I think there might be some mistake.

You see, I got the MOM OF THE YEAR award. Yeah, me! I couldn’t believe it either when Khadra gave it to me. I seriously think she needs to go see a neurologist and make sure that all the nuts and bolts up there are tightened really well.

See, here is the award…

Image and video hosting by TinyPic

Well, honestly, I am honored to be recognized as a Mom of the Year. Of course, as with the responsibility of being a mom, there are certain responsibilities that go along with receiving this award. The responsibilities are as follows:

1. Admit one thing you feel awful about (involving being a mom). Once you have written it down, you are no longer allowed to feel bad. Remember you are a good mom!

2. Remind yourself that you ARE a good mom, list 7 things you love about your kids, you love doing with your kids, or that your kids love about you.

3. Send this to 5 other moms of the year that deserve a reminder that they too are the best moms that they can be.

Remember to send them a note letting them know you have selected them, and also add a link to your post that directs people back to the person who nominated you.

One thing I feel awful about – hmm…..well, there was that one time…oh wait, that might get me arrested, well then that other time, oh no, that one people might just think I am weird. Oh yeah, one thing I feel awful about is not being able to make it to Princess’s Mother’s Day event last year. She didn’t even fuss about it. Her grandmother went instead and she was all like, “I know mommy, you had to work, it’s okay.”

Seven things I love about my kids, doing with my kids, or kids love about me
1. When they are sleeping!!!! LOL
2. When my kids smile and give me hugs and kisses
3. When they make strides in therapy and at school
4. I love to just lay down and watch tv with them
5. I love getting drawings and projects they made at school
6. I love it when they only want me when they feel sick as if I could make it all go away
7. When they are sleeping!!! Yeah, that one is so huge I had to say it twice

Okay, five other moms that are more than deserving of this award…..(I totally broke this one)

* Kia over at Good Enough Mama; it is her sass and her class that make me realize that I am not the only insane person out there dealing with sensory issues and that it is okay to break down every so often because we cannot do it all, no matter what our kids think.

* Mary Anne over at The Stiletto Mom; if there ever was a mom who could manage to be all kinds of crazy, stylish, maniacle, and still where them heels is a mom of the year in my book

* Heather over at Riding the Short Bus; I have been blessed to call this lady my friend. She is hard on herself but takes the time to sit back and laugh and make sure that those who she loves know it and know it often.

* Jen over at Sprite’s Keeper; one of the first blogs that I ever read and who has shown how wonderful it is just to be a parent of one child. I so totally forgot how that was!! LOL Honestly, she is a great mom who gives of herself to her family like no other.

* Casey over at Half as Good as You; what can I say, she reminds me of who I want to be as a parent when I forget sometimes. She is down to earth and is not about to conform to anyone who wants her to be different.

* Captain Dumbass over at Us & Them; yeah, I know it said moms but you know what, this guy is more of a mom than some moms I know. (Don’t worry Captain, I’m not going to tell them about that cherry emroidered lace apron you wear when you do them cheese people creations) He is the type of guy I think I would be if I were a guy.

*  Irish over at Irish Gumbo – there is nothing to say here except a dad after my own heart. He shows his emotions and is not afraid to show that men can cry and men are more than just testosterone driven beasts. Love ya Irish!

This is not to say that you all are not the best moms and don’t deserve these awards because you do. I’m just not going to require you to do all this manual labor of typing and such.

Love  ya!

Awesome choices! I read most of them and you guys all deserve it!



Aw! Now you’ve gone and made me weepy! This would totally screw up my makeup if I ever wore any.. You’re awesome, Krystal!
I seriously need to learn how to upload this to my sidebar, it’s the cutest one I’ve seen!
And please don’t feel bad about missing Princess’s Mom’s Day event. You did send her grandma so she had someone there! That’s thinking! You are an awesome mom and I should be taking notes when the next one comes around the corner. In about 3 years if John has his way…



Keely says:

That’s awesome! Congrats!



Aw, that is awesome!! Thanks! I love that award. I especially love the caption and the crying kid! Love ya back!



captaindumbass says:

Mom of the year?! Hell ya! You deserve this one, Krystal.



Heather says:

And you Will ALWAYS be thankful when “they” are sleeping!!!



Mom of the Year: well, duh! You totally deserve this one my dear! I am always amazed and in awe of the energy you seem to have at it spills over onto the page, in a very, very good way.

I am honored to be awarded by you. It makes me feel like I am in some most excellent company! Salute!



Casey says:

Aww, Krystal, thanks! I’m pretty sure my mothering skills are nothing compared to the mothering job you do. I’m a bitcher and complainer and I only have two kids to contend with…

Is it wrong that one of my favorite moments is when they’re sleeping too? It is, isn’t it. Damn. Thanks again for the award, I’ll wear it proudly!



DUDE. I am in love with you for this one!!!!! Thank you! Give me a couple of days to let one of my kids do something that drives me over the edge and I’ll post it! xoxo!!!



goodmum says:

Aw, thanks a million. Truly! I think this is my fav award so far. The pic is a perfect illustration of how I feel on too many days to mention. 🙂



Leave a Reply

et cetera
