Mommy’s Escape 6.0











{February 4, 2009}   A sobering moment

A beautiful little face with such a sweet smile.

Eyes that shine and glitter like the stars at night.

The softest voice and the most contagious giggle.

An angel of only 4 years of age walking hand in hand with her mom.

There was one thing that was different about this little girl.

You see, she didn’t look like all the other little girls walking into cooking class that night.

All the little girls had their hair nicely combed into poly tails and pig-tails and tucked neatly with barrettes.

This little girl did not have a barrette or a pony tail, not even a head band to show.

This was because she had no hair.

Why?

Because she has cancer.

She had just finished a round of chemo and was healthy enough to join in her favorite activity. Cooking class.

It was not just any cooking class, it was the same cooking class that Princess attends.

This night that the little girl joined the class was a night that I had the privilege of accompanying my husband to drop Princess off. Princess was already inside and working with the teacher when she walked in with her mom.

I commented on her cute Hannah Montana bracelet, she uttered a shy “Mine.”

Her mom looked tired but full of so much love.

My husband and I looked at each other and smiled.

I said “She is beautiful.”

We wished them a good class and left.

As we walked away, I heard the receptionist greet them and say to the little girl, “See, I knew you were going to come back! You made it!”

This made me think and my heart sank. How close did this little girl come to the end? How long has she been like this? How hard must it be for her family and mostly her parents? 

But then I remembered the smile and the laughter I heard as I followed them in the parking lot to meet my husband inside the school. She was going to be okay, the angels are on her side.

When Princess came home, I asked about her class and how it went. She said she met a new little girl in her class who was sick. Her teacher told her that the little girl had medicine in her throat and that was why she did not have hair. She also said the little girl was cute and was very silly and laughed alot. She said that the little girl was her friend. She didn’t remember her name but she said she was her friend.

We talked some more and at bed time, we said a prayer for the little girl. We hope she will be there next class, and the next, and the next. She has to be, the angels are on her side.

When this happened, I had a sobering moment that made me realize just how precious life is and how our children are a gift that we need to cherish every day. It made me realize that life is so fragile and it can be taken away in an instant. I haven’t been on as much trying to spend more time with the kids since I have a break from school. It is a great feeling, one that I would never want to trade.

Tonight, take your kids by the hand and tell them how much you love them, tell them how important they are. Remember to kiss them goodnight every night. They are our precious gifts and we need to make them know just how special they are.

I cannot be thankful enough that my children are healthy. I cannot imagine the hell of having a child with a serious illness. My heart goes out to the little girl and her family. And I’m so happy that Princess found a friend!!



spriteskeeper says:

Amen to that!



Lori says:

Amen! Said so beautifully and perfectly! I pray this little girl will gain her healthy back.



Keely says:

Aw! That’s always in the back of our minds; but to be presented with the reality of it is numbing. My heart goes out to those parents. And I’m glad Princess found a friend!



colepack says:

Amen again. I pray she gains her health back



Heather says:

I hug my cancer survivor every night…thankful that he made it. He is my hero.



halfasgoodasyou says:

I’m glad the little girl is still getting out and doing well and that princess found a new friend! I’m off to hug my kids. Oh wait, they’re finally both napping, I’ll hug them when they get up.



clairep says:

Things like this pull you up short don’t they? When hubby had his heart attack I went through some of the same emotions. You just never know.



mrsbear says:

This is a great reminder, especially when we get caught up in the little details of life. I hope Princess’s new friend will continue to get well.



Khadra says:

Thanks for the reminder. I hope this little girl is going to be ok.



Danette says:

Beautiful post. I hope Princess’ new friend continues to do well!



Leave a Reply

et cetera
