Mommy’s Escape 6.0











{January 20, 2009}   A new era

Hey everyone, sorry I have been a bit out of it for the past few days but I am feeling alot better now!! Thanks to all of you who sent me well wishes – you guys are the best!

If ever there was a sign of the changing times, it is today.

I was privileged enough to go home during my lunch break and watch the Inauguration of our new President.

I am not going to make this sound like a political rant or rave so just bare with me please.

While I was driving, President Obama was being sworn in. I thought to myself how weird it was to say that – “President Obama”.

Then it hit me, times are changing and hopefully in the right direction.

The election of this man to our highest political office shows the strength and the courage that our country is looking for in these hard times.

It is showing that we are willing to take a risk on the unknown in efforts to make life better for ourselves.

We have been suffering through so many economic, medical, emotional problems that we needed this change.

It is also a sign that we are gaining more acceptance in this world. That people are and should be judged by the quality of their character instead of the color of their skin or the balance they hold in their bank accounts.

It shows that through hard work and determination, we can make the necessary changes to make our lives better and the lives of those around us enriched.

We, right now, as people of this world, not just the United States, need to stand up and take heed of this example.

It is our time to take the wrongs and make them right. It is our time to find the hope through the darkness and bring it forward and see it through.

It is our responsibility as people to ensure that we make the best of what is given to us and help others achieve their best when they are struggling.

Today showed me that anything is possible if you believe enough and try hard enough.

It is our time to shine and step forward.

I am going to take this time and make the changes I need to make in order for the vision and the hopes of my family to come true.

What are you going to do in this time of change? Remember, it all starts with you.

I am going to channel my energies into making my patch of the planet a better place. I think that is a good place to start.

Very well written!



halfasgoodasyou says:

I feel your enthusiasm, I have been flying high all day. Glad you got to watch the big event. How’s the new job going?



I’m going to start by changing my clothes and take a shower. I just got off the treadmill and I stink! 🙂



Jim @ IPR says:

A very nice post. I’m hoping he brings nothing but good things, but regardless his achievement is inspiring.



I finally got off my ass and started painting my bathroom. Seriously, that speech was so amazing, the whole thing was so amazing that when I got back to my computer to check out everybody’s blogs, I couldn’t think of anything to say in the comments. You’re lucky to have such an amazing man running your country. I don’t particularly want to be American, no offense, but I wouldn’t mind if he was running our country for the next four years too. Or his daughters, cause really, they couldn’t do worse than what we have.



I started channeling my energy as soon as President Obama’s speech was over, and found that all my energy was going to Irish Gumbo’s patch of earth. I went to take a shower, and there was Captain Dumbass with a paint roller.

I’m not off to a very good start.



Mama Dawg says:

Clap, clap, clap, clap, clap.

Well said, my dear. Well said.



colepack says:

Woooooo-effing-Hooooooo!!!!!!!!!



colepack says:

oh, I just re-read my little saying and maybe I should say I meant that is an awesomesauce way!



Leave a Reply

et cetera
