Mommy’s Escape 6.0











{January 16, 2009}   Spin Cycle: What If

There usually comes a time in one’s life when a journey is made. This journey is made to a land of endless possibilities. This land can have positive and happy endings or negative and dreary ones that send shivers of fear up their spines. This land is known as TheLandofWhatIf.

TheLandofWhatIf is where people go to look at their lives and wonder what would be different had they taken a different road in life or went on that date that they missed because they were grounded or if they took that job that would have forced them to move away.

TheLandofWhatIf can cause various emotions as well, such as happiness that the current life that is being led is better than the life that they could have led.

But it can also bring the negative such as regret over missed opportunities and wrong choices made, or sadness because life has not turned out the way it was expected to be or goals had not yet been achieved.

TheLandofWhatIf is unique to every individual and the effect as well. Some choose to leave TheLandofWhatIf immediately while others dwell their entire lives there. They seek refuge and solace in the possibilities of the past and find residence in the farthest recesses that TheLandofWhatIf has to offer.

Many times, TheLandofWhatIf can take over if one allows it to and make one feel as if what is around them is not right or “perfect” because like I said, TheLandofWhatIf is made up of endless possibilities – as far as our own minds can take us.

That is why I choose never to visit TheLandofWhatIf and if I do find myself attempting a trip, I try and spin myself around quickly. I don’t want to wonder what could have happened or what might not have been because I know that those roads will not lead to the life I have now. The love that I have from my husband and children will not be there. I will not have had the same experiences and challenges that have made me to be the person I am today. My past is my past for a reason, it already happened. There is no sense in going there or trying to imagine a fantasy that might have been perfect.

We never really know what could have happened, if what we imagine when we visit TheLandofWhatIf would have actually been the reality.

All we know is the reality we have now and that we need to enjoy what is given to us and if changes need to be made, they need to be made now so that we do not find ourselves looking back and trying to book a reservation to TheLandofWhatIf.

Enjoy your stay in the here and now, it is the only one we got!

This What If Monologue was brought to you courtesy of the Weekly Edition of the Spin Cycle Sponsored by Sprite’s Keeper.

I never saw this coming, Krystal! Very creative and wonderfully Spun! You’re linked!



Excellent spin on the Spin, Krystal.



Keely says:

Awesome Spin 🙂



Lori says:

I love your take on this spin on thelandofwhatif. Brilliant and so true. Thanks for the reminder.



colepack says:

Dude, I am so with you and almost wrote something similar but Sookie is taking up too much of my time so mine is much more simple.
“What If’s” always , ALWAYS, ALL-EFFING-WAYS, get me in trouble.



Jim @ IPR says:

I knew there was a wise soul in there. It must run in the family 😉 Great post!



Krystal: that was AWESOME! What an amazing take on the subject! There is a quote in my post of yesterday that you would like: http://irishgumbo.blogspot.com/2009/01/in-motorhead-we-trust.html

I refer you not for my sake but to see the amazing quote from The Mister regarding our paths in life. He nailed it!

Great work, I am glad I caught up to you! (And you can read ancient Greek? Man, you get more interesting.. do tell!)



Casey says:

Great spin, Krystal. It’s hard to go to the Landofwhatif since it’ll drive you nuts. I try not to go there too often.



Beautifully put and I couldn’t agree more.



Very well put! I could go on and on about my thoughts on this but it’s 1:20 am and I am not with it enough!



phhhst says:

Great spin on the spin. I’m glad I stopped by.



Mama Dawg says:

I don’t visit TheLandofWhatIf. My sanity can’t afford it. It really can’t.

But, great post.



Terrific work! That is the kind of info that should be shared around
the net. Shame on Google for no longer positioning this post higher!

Come on over and consult with my web site . Thanks =)



Leave a Reply

et cetera
