Mommy’s Escape 6.0











{January 13, 2009}   Spice Girls make a comeback!!!

Okay, not really but sort of.

On Sunday I had to go to pick up my W2 and my pay-stubs from my last job so I can submit for SSI for the kids so I thought it would be nice to take Princess and Tiny Dancer with me and make it a “girls out morning”.

As I drove I was searching through the regular FM radio for something interesting to listen to and nothing caught my ear. Everything was either really ghetto rap, lots of electronica, or too much talk and commercials.

Princess looked so bored and I felt horrible for having brought her and then I remembered – I have satellite radio!!!!

I immediately went crazy looking for the Disney Channel and Princess asked me what I was doing and I told her I am looking for Disney on the radio. She quickly quipped back, You’re silly mom, Disney is not in the radio, it is in Orlando!!! I swear, she gets smarter every day.

In an effort to keep my eyes on the road I gave up and hit my preset channel “90’s on 9” and guess what was playing?

Spice Girls, If You Want To Be My Lover.

Princess gave out a loud EEEEEEEEE!!!!! She was so giddy and she started singing. I was amazed and gave out my own yet more mature EEEEEEEEEEE and started singing along with her.

We were belting out notes that would make Ginger Spice and Baby Spice jealous!!!

We were a dynamic vocal duo that could not be beat!

I loved it so much!

At the end of the song we laughed and laughed and smiled. I looked in my rear view mirror and saw her grin with that one gap awaiting a new tooth to grow in and all I could think to myself was how lucky I was.

Of course, Tiny Dancer could not be out done, as I went to lower the volume to ask Princess if she was hungry, BBUUUURRRRPPP!!! yeap, TD made her presence known. LOL

Whether it is singing or letting out gas, my little girls are way talented and I am so proud that they are mine.

You’re such a girl! “If you wanna’ be my lova, y’gotta get with my friends…”



Khadra says:

I loved the Spice Girls, and yes I was too old to love them when they were popular lol!



Petra says:

aw, so cute! I love busting out in tunes with my kids, it’s the best!



halfasgoodasyou says:

Aww, sounds like a fun car trip! Ours are usually spent singing Happy Birthday or The Wheels on the Bus.



Princess knows Spice Girls?! “So, tell me what you want, what you really really want!”
These are the moments you wish for a camera or dash mounted cam..



Keely says:

Heh. I’ve been neglecting Xander’s musical education and bypassing the Spice Girls before now! I will remedy that tomorrow. I’d do it now, but I think waking him up to blast Spice World might warrant additional therapy in the future.



Danette says:

Ya’ll crack me up! I love Tiny Dancer’s contribution too, lol 🙂

You have some awards waiting at:
http://3runningincircles.com/2009/01/overdue-thanks.html



Lori says:

Sounds like fun! This is one of my most favorite things to do with my kids. Your kids are lucky to have such a fun mom!



Jim @ IPR says:

My son and I go for Jimmy Buffett and Flogging Molly for the most part.



colepack says:

Those are the best and unscripted moments. I like to write about those knowing I can look back years later and recall it.
that was awesomesauce.



Leave a Reply

et cetera
