Mommy’s Escape 6.0











{November 7, 2008}   Once a baby…

Today is Princess’s B-day so I am not going to be on much so a great bloggy friend of mine, Danette, is standing in for me today to share a story that all moms can possibly relate to. Please read on and show her some love – she is truly another autism mommy that is a great inspiration to me and more than just an autism mommy, a great friend!

Hi, this is Danette from Everyday Adventures. I am honored to be guest-posting for Krystal today! I am so happy for her and the new addition to their family :).

On the topic of new babies, I’ve been thinking about my own “babies” who aren’t really babies anymore. They are well on their way to big-boyness and beyond, but I insist on calling them my babies, and I have come to the realization that I’ll be doing that well into their 70’s+ (assuming I’m still around by then, if not, I’ll be haunting them just to tell them, “I love you, sweet angel!” LOL).

When I was growing up, I thought my parents were so overprotective. I was the oldest, and of course, bent on establishing my independence at every turn. I wasn’t too rebellious (at least I don’t think so) but I really gave them a hard time about treating me like a baby. Of course I have always loved my parents dearly, but as a teenager I cringed inwardly (and sometimes outwardly) every time they said, “Oh, look, our baby girl is getting so grown up!” or whenever they reminisced in front of my friends, “Remember when Sissy used to…” They did the same with my brother, so at least someone shared my “pain.”

Whenever I complained, they just smiled and said that when I had children of my own, I’d understand. They told me about how their parents still called *them* their “babies.” I was skeptical, but I humored them :).

Turns out they were right. Now I know the simultaneous joy and sadness of seeing your children growing up, always too quickly. Joy in seeing their personalities and abilities develop, sadness in knowing they will never be this age again. Yearning to slow down time and experience every moment for as long as possible… (except during meltdowns of course, let’s be realistic, I’d love to have a fast-forward button for those!).

Now I know what they meant when they said your children are always your babies. My sons could be old men, grey (or bald) and wrinkled, married with children, grandchildren, even great-grandchildren of their own. And they will STILL be my precious little angels.

So now, when my parents give me that happy/sad look and exclaim how grown up their baby girl is, or tell the story for the umpteenth time about how I did this or that when I was four… I no longer feel embarrassed or babied. I feel loved, and I know how much those memories mean. So far, my sons indulge me when I baby them… I can only hope that will continue for as long as possible, and that someday, they too will understand where I’m coming from :).

That’s sweet! I now like it when my mom reminisces about the old days since she’s usually too busy kissing up on my own daughter to see me standing there.
Happy birthday, Princess!



Khadra says:

very nice! and very true!



Beautiful post. Sincerely beautiful!



Happy Bday, Princess! Can’t wait to see the pictures!! 😀



Oh, and Krystal, I have an award for you over at my place. 😀



Sammanthia says:

Happy birthday, Princess!!!
Beautiful post, and I can totally relate… I’m gonna have a hard time letting go when they grow up and move on to the next phase of their lives. Sigh.



Krystal says:

Thank you all for the birthday wishes for Princess!!



Leave a Reply

et cetera
